Of All People to Call for Jury Service

I was summoned for jury service in Tarrant County last week. As it happened, there were not any cases left on the docket, so I was free to go by mid-afternoon. From what the bailiff said, I should not be up for service for nearly two more years.

I had an OK time, and I only recall one objectionable thing about the process. Before some of us were given a court assignment, potential jurors were shown a video by the Young Lawyers of Texas to dispel some myths about jury service. Toward the end of the video, a former juror reassure us by stating that “You don’t have to make a decision about the law, just the facts.”

While I suppose it is true that a juror does not have to make a decision about the law, that is sneaky way of skirting any discussion of jury nullification.

