July’s FIJA Outreach

For July’s Fully Informed Jury Association activism, I helped distribute about 270 brochures to potential jurors and some county employees. It seemed to be a light jury day. Otherwise, we could have reached more people.

Katy and I passed out a different brochure [PDF] this time, “A Primer for Prospective Jurors.” We think it is more professional looking in addition to providing some useful tips on answering private questions during voir dire.

Some of the common questions about jury nullification are also addressed in the brochure. For example, “Once on a jury, must I use the law as given by the judge, even if I think it’s a bad law, or wrongly applied?” There are also historic examples of jury nullification being used to right a wrong, like the trial of William Penn.

Following our previous outreach event, FIJA donated about 1000 copies of literature and other merchandise, so we should be stocked up for a good while. We will set another event for next month. I know I said this last time, but I will make time for a training session sometime for any newcomers who like to attend FIJA events in the future.

Originally posted at DFW Alliance of the Libertarian Left
2 thoughts on “July’s FIJA Outreach”

  1. I thought this event was pretty successful. I think that the more people we expose to this information, the more commonplace jury nullification will become. If people are willing to question the nature of the law, they will also begin questioning the legitimacy of government authority over the lives of people in the first place.

Comments are closed.